NwSSU joins 56th ASEAN Month Celebration, bags awards on Regional Tilt

Pursuant to Proclamation No. 282 dated July 31, 2018, the month of August is declared as the ASEAN Month. Hence, with the theme- "ASEAN Matters: Epicentrum of Growth", NwSSU joined the 56th ASEAN Founding Anniversary Month-Long Celebration” together with CHEDRO VIII, Higher Education Institutions (HEIs), Partner Organizations, and Stakeholders in Region VII. The theme highlights the vision of the ASEAN as a beacon of peace and stability in the region amidst multi-dimensional challenges.

On August 7, 2023, at 7:30 a.m., the Nationwide Simultaneous Flag-Raising Ceremony and ASEAN Month 2023 kicked off. After the flag ceremony, the faculty and staff in their Filipino-inspired attires proceeded to Business Development Center for viewing of the live stream via CHED's Social Media Channels. The NwSSU Team participated the Regional Opening held on August 14 at Tacloban City where motorcade around the city and ASEAN Info-Session on Trans-National Education (TNE) ensued. On August 18, different commemorative contests were catered at Eastern Visayas State University and Dona Remedios Trinidad Romualdez Medical Foundation Gymnasium such as Essay Writing, Poster Making, Dance Sports, Spoken Word Poetry, and Chorale Competition. Further, the 2nd Internationalization Conference on Live Experience on Faculty and Student Mobility was carried out at Tacloban City, August 24. The NwSSU Team also participated on the ASEAN Festival of Talents and Closing Ceremony on August 30 in which the team bagged accolades.

Out of 22 contestants from public and private universities and colleges in the region, Jeff Galing, a BS Architecture student, ranked second while China Bonguet and Joseph Jabonite, BS Business Administration and BS Community Development students, respectively, secured the third spot in the Dance Sports Modern Standard Category.

During the month-long regional celebration, state universities and colleges wore the national clothes of the assigned ASEAN country. Biliran Province State University was for Indonesia, Eastern Samar State University - Lao PDR, Eastern Visayas State University- Brunei Darussalam, Leyte Normal University- Timor Leste, Northwest Samar State University- Philippines, Palompon Institute of Technology- Thailand, Samar State University- Malaysia, Southern Leyte State University- Singapore, University of Eastern Philippines- Vietnam, and Visayas State University- Myanmar.